Just Regular Stuff

I made meatloaf for dinner.  My mom’s recipe.  My husband hated meatloaf until he tasted her’s.  He exclaims each time he has it that it is great and often (sorry, Dot) talks about the meatloaf his mom made that made him hate the thought of the meal.

meatloarGrandma Lu’s Meatloaf

  • 2# ground beef
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2-1 cup crushed saltines
  • 1/2 -1 cup ketchup
  • salt
  • pepper
  • 1 lg onion, chopped

Mix ingredients.  Form into loaf.  Bake at 350 for 1 to 1 1/2 hours.

Easy, peasy.  Huh?  Still yum.  Slice cold leftovers for sandwiches.

Talked with my daughter tonight on the phone.  She commented that so many blogs only talked about the ideal.  We compare ourselves to these idealized renditions of how life is.

Hmmm.  My life is good but I lose it sometimes.  I try to be kind and patient and loving.  But I fuss when The Bearded One is angry when I try to help him but he does not want to be helped.  When I urge him to do something he does not want to do.  I am hurt when he snaps at me but it is not his fault.  He has no clue what is happening to him as he loses function.  That is a blessing in itself, he is generally content when I am not “nagging”.

I am blessed to be the one who functions.  I am blessed to be the one who can do it all.  I would much rather be in my place than his.  I just lose my perspective at times.

Sigh.

 

 

 

About Retired woman

retired, dealing with parents recent deaths, wondering what lies ahead with the health of my spouse, overall enjoying each day, love cooking, gardening, travel, Grandsons, family, small town life
This entry was posted in alzheimers, dementia, recipe and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Just Regular Stuff

  1. Sometimes the “caretaker’ needs the care..
    BTW….you left out the best part of the meatloaf….add some sugar to the ketchup and spoon it over the top of the loaf….then bake. Yum

Leave a Reply

