Spring? Cleaning at least…

The birds are chirping when I am outside.  They seem to think that Spring is coming.  As I showed you the other day, a few plants are poking an exploratory tip above the ground in the gardens.  I took that as a sign that I should begin planting seedlings.  I planted broccoli and cabbage a couple of weeks ago in seed trays.  Yesterday, I planted pepper plants but have the trays on heating pads to trick the seeds into thinking we are closer to warm than we are.

The sun is slanting through the windows more seriously now.  Even though I wash windows fairly frequently, it shows that the grime of woodstove and gas heat has built up and needs to be washed away.  Spring cleaning needs to begin.  I have decided to take this on as my “bit of a time” project.  A few minutes each day to do a detailed project that is not part of my usual cleaning schedule.

Today, I started detailed cleaning the tile floor and grout in my bathroom.  I tried a recipe a friend had posted on Facebook for cleaning grout in tiled floors.  I was enthused but somewhat skeptical.

I mixed the potion.  I sprayed it on a portion of tile.  I waited for ten minutes (wait, I got distracted by life and remembered to go back 20 or 30 minutes later).  I scubbed the grout with a toothbrush and rinsed.  I waited for the floor to dry.

tile

Can you see the difference?  Is the clean grout at the top or bottom?

Yep, at the top.  And my grout is not grimy.  It was only installed a few years ago and it is routinely washed.  Still, the recipe made a difference in quick time.  Granted, I do not routinely scrub my grout with a toothbrush and that may be part of the equation but still.  I will use this recipe again.

Spring Cleaning Recipe for Grout

3 1/2 cup water

1/4 cup baking soda

generous 5 Tbsp lemon juice

2 Tbsp vinegar

Mix together and put in spray bottle.  Spray on the floor and let it sit for a minute or two or twenty.  Scrub.

 

About Retired woman

retired, dealing with parents recent deaths, wondering what lies ahead with the health of my spouse, overall enjoying each day, love cooking, gardening, travel, Grandsons, family, small town life
This entry was posted in cleaning, spring cleaning, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

