A New Medium in Art

I have not updated you for some time on my art (or much else for that matter).  Sigh.  I talk to you in my head often but do not let it flow to the keyboard as often as I want. But, today, here I am. I have almost finished the paintings of the cats.  I have gotten a bit burned out on them so have not finished.  I have started a still life that has captured my attention.  I will let you see it on another day. Today, I attended the Colored Pencil Society meeting in Cincinnati.  As part of the meeting, there was a demonstration of Scratch Board art paired with colored pencil.  We all started a Scratch Board project.  I was not sure I would enjoy the process but was feeling that I am ready to try something new.  (Maybe it is the burn out from the cat paintings…).  Anyway I brought the needed materials and began a project. Since I did not put a lot of effort into finding a reference photo but wanted it to be one of my own photos, I chose another cat picture.  duh.  You would think that being burned out would be a hint to me but I seem to be a slow learner.  I just knew that it needed to be a reference with a lot of lines.  Fur is line, isn’t it? Okay.  So here is the progress on the projects. allie final edit  This one is finished.  I think. vg3 edit This one is not finished.  Getting closer but work to do. And, today, after my first try at Scratch Board… scratchboard allie 1 edit

Interesting, huh?  Gonna finish it.

About Retired woman

retired, dealing with parents recent deaths, wondering what lies ahead with the health of my spouse, overall enjoying each day, love cooking, gardening, travel, Grandsons, family, small town life
This entry was posted in art, cat, colored pencil, colored pencil art, photography, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

