Roasted Vegetable Pasta

The last few weeks I have been finding red or yellow peppers in the “about to go bad” section of the produce isle at deep discounts.  I have used them in various ways but have found that roasting them right away and storing them coated in olive oil makes them available for cooking for a couple of weeks.

This makes me look for more ways to use them.

I wanted to use a new pasta I had found, Barilla White Fiber Mini Rotini.  I am trying to increase the amount of fiber in our diet.  I often use whole wheat pasta but find it overpowering to some recipes.  So, this was worth a try.

Since I had the roasted peppers (in this case yellow), I planned a roasted vegetable pasta dinner.  I could not find a recipe that fit my vision, so I decided to adapt a number of ideas into my own.

It was delicious.

IMG_1271

Roasted Vegetable Pasta (2 servings)

6 oz your choice of pasta (I used Barilla White Fiber Mini Rotini)

Twice the amount of pasta in vegetables (I used four Roma tomatoes in large chunks, five large mushrooms in large chunks, one small onion in long slim wedges, five stalks of asparagus ((it is Spring and we put asparagus from the garden in everything)), and one yellow pepper) but you could use anything (eggplant, zucchini, summer squash, winter squash, sweet potato…).

One head of garlic.

Roast the head of garlic in a 400 degree oven.  Place the head of garlic on a sheet of foil, douse it with olive oil, seal the foil packet and put it in the oven for 30 to 40 minutes.  Remove from oven and let cool.  Cut the garlic head in half horizontally and squeeze the goodness into a bowl with some olive oil added.

In the meantime, cut up the vegetables.  Cover each with olive oil, a bit of salt and pepper.  About 30 minutes after the garlic has started to roast, put the firmer vegetables (onion, pepper, winter squash, sweet potato for example) onto a cookie sheet and begin roasting in the 400 degree oven.  Stir occasionally.  About 20 minutes later, add the softer vegetables (tomatoes, asparagus, zucchini, summer squash, etc.)   and roast and additional 20 to 30 minutes, stirring the whole mixture occasionally.

While the veg are roasting, cook the pasta.  Drain, reserving a bit of the cooking water.

Combine the cooked vegetables and the pasta.  Add a bit of olive oil and a bit of cooking water.  Stir it together.

I planned on adding some good balsamic vinegar but forgot.  I still think it would have been great but this was still a terrific recipe.  I recommend it highly.

We peeled shards of parmesan cheese on each serving.  Yum.

 

 

About Retired woman

retired, dealing with parents recent deaths, wondering what lies ahead with the health of my spouse, overall enjoying each day, love cooking, gardening, travel, Grandsons, family, small town life
This entry was posted in recipe and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

